Comber Brass
Comber Brass

About us

The original Comber band started as a flute band in 1902 before converting to brass in 1949.


Each week the members come together to practice for concerts, contests, church services and numerous other engagements. The band aim to give back to the community in the area and are involved annually in Christmas celebrations and Remembrance day services. Many of the engagements are in support of local charities for example the RNLI.


The members take competition seriously too, annually entering Autumn, Spring and entertainment contests. organised by the Brass Band League (NI) and the North of Ireland Bands Association.

Resident Conductor and Musical Director


Wesley Thompson BA MBA


Associate Conductors


Michael Alcorn PhD


Comber Silver Band Officers

Ken Browne - band manager

Jayne Smyth - secretary

Granville Lavin - treasurer

James McClure - contest secretary

Lucy Adams/Davy McCracken - librarians

Adam/Nikki Porteous - uniform officers

Maurice Baalham - instrument officer

Laura Salt/Gordon Gray - Comber Youth Band reps

Lawrence Baalham - child protection officer

Laura Salt - assistant child protection officer

Ken Browne/James McClure - NIBA/BBL reps

Stuart Adair - webmaster

Sam Burgess - Band President

Sam Burgess first joined the Comber band in 1940 when it was still a flute band. Sam successfully made the transition from flute to brass when the band changed in the late 1940s, firstly as a cornet player and later on the tenor horn.


Over the years Sam has played a major part in Comber Silver Band as a player and in other roles within the band organisation.  It has only been in the last few years that Sam had to retire as an active band member; however, his interest in the band remains undiminshed, to quote Sam himself "Wednesday night is band night".


Members of the current band, former members and their families gathered in McBrides restaurant in Comber Square on Saturday 21st February 2015 to honour Sam's contribution to Comber Silver Band with a presentation of an inscribed crystal bowl and to offically announce that Sam has accepted the post of Band President.


Former band members present were Alan Curry, Beverley Heaney, 'Hammy' Mills, Harry Rainey, Ian Roberts, James Cook, John Boyce, Robert Frost, Ronnie O'Prey and Tom Heaney.

Website changes

New calendar events added


Tuesday 12/02/2019 - Belfast City Hall

Saturday 16/02/2019 - BBL Solos/Ensembles contest

Saturday 02/03/2019 - Entertainment contest - Fivemiletown

Saturday 06/04/2019 - BBL contest, Strabane

Comber Brass on Facebook

Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© Comber Brass 2014 - 2019 All rights reserved (Last update 26/01/2019)